Live Review: Kylie Minogue @ The SSE Hydro, Glasgow

3 mins read
Credit: lntvglobal.com

Having seen Kylie before, on her ‘Aphrodite: Les Folies Tour’ back in 2011, I knew that I was in for a spectacular show. What I didn’t expect from the ‘Golden Tour’, however, was quite how intimate she could manage to make an arena feel while still putting on a massive performance.

Opening with the title track of her new album, ‘Golden’, Kylie has clearly gone hog wild on the country theme which is very fitting for the musical style of her latest release. Gone are the theatrics of the Greek themed outfits designed by Dolce and Gabbana, in are the all-denim cowgirl outfits.

It wasn’t all about her new country sound, though, with a set that encompassed music from throughout her 30-year career. It had everything from ‘The Loco-Motion’ and ‘Especially for You’ to ‘Kids’ and ‘All the Lovers’. Her vocals also sounded better than ever and were near enough faultless across the massive 27-song set list.

One of the highlights of the set was a new interpretation of ‘Can’t Get You Out of My Head’ that gave it a bit of a Rock ‘n’ Roll edge rather than its usual bubble gum-disco-pop form. This was a recurring theme throughout the night, with Fleetwood Mac’s ‘The Chain’ being played by her live band as an interlude during one of her several costume changes, which saw the concert split into six acts.

While it may not have had the ridiculously awe-inducing spectacle of the water jets and aerial acrobatics seen in her earlier tour, there were still a lot of amazing aspects to the show – from the visually stunning video interludes between the acts, that looked like they could’ve come straight out of a classic Western movie, to the laser light show that zapped over the whole audience. It just goes to show that Kylie doesn’t need all the razzmatazz around her to keep the audience engrossed.

This show was truly an ode to Kylie Minogue’s spectacular career thus far and her flair for putting on a show. The ‘Golden Tour’ is a masterclass from a pop legend.

4 out of 5

Credit: Jamie Harris

Set list:

Act I

  1. Golden
  2. Get Outta My Way
  3. Better the Devil You Know

Act II

  1. Blue Velvet (Tony Bennett song) (Interlude)
  2. Confide in Me
  3. I Believe in You
  4. In Your Eyes
  5. A Lifetime to Repair


  1. Shelby ’68
  2. Radio On
  3. Wow
  4. Can’t Get You Out of My Head

Act IV

  1. Slow
  2. Kids
  3. The One
  4. Stop Me From Falling

Act V

  1. Wouldn’t Change a Thing
  2. I’ll Still Be Loving You
  3. Especially for You
  4. Lost Without You
  5. All the Lovers

Act VI

  1. New York City / Raining Glitter
  2. On a Night Like This
  3. The Loco-Motion
  4. Spinning Around


  1. Love at First Sight
  2. Dancing


+ posts

Music editor

%d bloggers like this: