Boris’s Brexit cabinet unveiled

6 mins read

Boris Johnson officially took office as the United Kingdom’s next Prime Minister, although, with numerous resignations from senior cabinet positions. There was then quite a few jobs for the new Prime Minister to fill, so here’s some of the key roles and who now occupies them.

Credit: @sajidjavid

Former Home Secretary and Tory leadership challenger Sajid Javid,  MP for Bromsgrove since 2010, has been appointed as the first black or ethnic minority Chancellor of the Exchequer.

Replacing Mr Javid at the Home Office will be Pritti Patel, who has previously served in the government as International Development Secretary from 2016 to 2017. Patel also held a position in David Cameron’s  majority government as an employment minister.

Another ex-Cameron minister, Nicky Morgan is back on the front benches of the House of Commons as Secretary of State for Department of Media, Culture and Sport after a stint as Education Secretary between 2014 – 2016.

Dominic Rabb
Credit: @DominicRaab

Hardcore Brexiteer and one-time Brexit secretary Dominic Raab, who resigned over May’s deal – citing at the time that accepting it would “severely prejudice” the next phase of the negotiations – has returned to Cabinet as Foreign Secretary and also First Secretary of State, a position likened as an effective deputy PM.

Another party leadership contender who has bagged a top role in cabinet is Micheal Gove, who was backed by local MP Stephen Kerr to become leader of the Conservative Party. Gove is now the Chancellor of the Dutchy of Lancaster, having previously overseen the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.

Succeeding Mr Gove as Environment Secretary is Theresea Villers, a former Secretary of State for Northern Ireland from 2012 to 2016 in coalition government.

Credit: The Drum

Andrea Leadsom, who backed leaving the EU in the referendum has been appointed as Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy. Leadsom was one of May’s many resignations, as she stepped down from her role as Leader of the House earlier this year over concerns which she outlined in her resignation letter stating: “I no longer believe our approach will deliver on the referendum result.” She’ll be betting on Johnson to follow through.

Former Conservative Party Chairman, Grant Shapps, who was first elected in 2005, is the new Transport Secretary taking over from Chris ‘Failing’ Grayling, as he was dubbed for his missteps in office, including train timetable changes and the controversial East Coast Main Line replacing of operator Virgin.

Former chief whip and Defence Secretary Gavin Williamson, until he was sacked by Theresa May, is back in cabinet as Education Secretary. Ben Wallace joins the cabinet as Defence Secretary.

Lizz Truss, who previously worked in the Treasury as a minister, is the new International Trade Secretary replacing East Kilbride native and Glasgow university graduate, Dr Liam Fox. Another former Treasury minister, Robert Jenrick, assumes oversight of housing.

Rory Stewart, who contested the Conservative Party leadership and caught the public interest with his wandering campaigning, resigned from his role as Secretary of State for International Development. He is succeeded by the MP for Reading West, Alok Sharma, who backed Mr Johnson’s leadership bid.

Credit: Alister Jack Facebook

There have also been a few  changes in the departments which interact with the devolved administrations. Most notably David Mundell, who had been Secretary of State for Scotland since 2010, has been succeeded by Alister Jack, the current  MP for Dumfries and Galloway, who was first elected as an MP  in 2017.  Julian Smith, a former Government Whip replaces the much maligned Karen Bradley as Secretary of State for Northern Ireland. Alun Cairns takes the reigns as Welsh Secretary.

Ex-Johnson colleague from his time as London mayor, former Solider James Cleverly has been appointed Party Chairman.

However, there has been some continuity from the previous Government with several high profile government ministers  retaining their current jobs. Amber Rudd remains Work and Pensions Secretary, Geoffrey Cox is staying on as Attorney General, Matt Hancock returns as Health Secretary, and Stephen Barclay maintains his position as Brexit secretary.

The new PM also made room for brother Jo, as a business minister, who will attend cabinet meetings without full membership. The same privileges were extended to media favourite Jacob Rees-Mog, as Commons leader.

Feature Image Credit: Sky News

+ posts

Leave a Reply