Rangers boss Steven Gerrard voted Football Writer’s Manager of the Year

3 mins read

Rangers boss Steven Gerrard says he is ‘delighted’ after picking up the Football Writer’s Manager of the Year award.

Overcoming almost a decade of Celtic dominance, Gerrard has led Gers to league success at a canter, wrapping it up in March.

The Ibrox outfit are also just two games away from going an entire league season unbeaten.

To achieve that, they must avoid defeat at Livingston tonight then on Saturday at home to Aberdeen – where they will be presented with their trophy.

Rangers boss Steven Gerrard – credit: Flickr

Gerrard will rue missed opportunities to bag his first cup as a boss too, having gone out to St Mirren and St Johnstone in the Betfred Cup and Scottish Cup, respectively.

But it was a stunning display in Europe that got them to the quarter-finals before being infamously dumped out by Slavia Prague.

The second-leg at Ibrox was their first and only defeat of the European campaign.

And the Liverpool legend was quick to recognise his staff when being awarded the William Hill SFWA gong.

Gerrard said: ‘I’m delighted to receive the award. 

“I receive it collectively with my staff. 

“I think that goes without saying because we are very much a team here. 

“I think we have achieved the success we have this season as a team of staff and I thank all of you guys in the Press for voting for me and I certainly cherish the award.”

Gerrard saw off tough competition in Callum Davidson, Steve Clarke and David Martindale to land the award.

Rangers fans celebrating their first title in a decade – credit: Flickr

Davidson can count himself unlucky having guided Saints to Betfred Cup glory, a top-six finish and a Scottish Cup final to look forward to at the end of the month.

Clarke was the man that brought Finals football to the Scotland National Team for the first time in over 20 years after that famous penalty shoot-out win in Serbia.

While Livingston boss David Martindale said his title came when he was deemed fit and proper after guiding Livi to a top-six finish with a remarkable start taking the job.

Rangers will end with a clean sweep of awards from the writer’s, with the Player of the Year set to be contested by Connor Goldson, Steven Davis, Allan McGregor and captain James Tavernier.

Featured image credit: Flickr

Website | + posts
Previous Story

Indoor visiting to begin on Monday

Next Story

International Hummus Day

Latest from Blog

%d bloggers like this: