Tears and Triumphs: FIFA Women’s World Cup moves on to knock-out rounds

5 mins read

After two weeks and 48 matches the FIFA Women’s World Cup group stage ended on Thursday, August 3 with teams in Group H battling to advance into the Round of 16. 

The 16 teams that made it into the knock-out round could not be more diverse. Nations who are fighting for their next world cup title will play in the knock-outs, but so will first-timers to the tournament.

The United States, for instance, are chasing their third World Cup title in a row, which would set a new record. However, the team did not slide through the group phase with ease. The current title holders only won one of their matches in the group stage, placing them runner-up in Group E after the Netherlands.  

In the Round of 16, debutants who were disregarded from the moment they qualified for the Cup, will find their place to perform.

First timer Morocco, who won their final game against Colombia on Thursday, was able to place second in Group H before Germany. The North African team will be playing their first ever World Cup knock-out game on Tuesday, August 8 against France.

Image Credit: http://www.tsn.ca

Disappointments for title chasers

Meanwhile, the German national team left its country in a state of shock and disappointment as they were unable to show a strong performance, which everyone was waiting for. A tie in their final match against South Korea means they only placed third in their group.

Equally, the group stage turned out to be a big disappointment for pre-tournament favorite Brazil, who also only placed third in their group. The big dream to win the World title for their leading player Marta Vieira da Silva was shattered after no more than three matches.

With the 2023 World Cup, Marta played her sixth and final Cup, missing out on her last chance to bring Brazil to first-time World Cup glory.

Brazil’s Marta Vieira da Silva; Image Credits: http://www.cbs.com

Triumphs for Outsiders

In Group F, France and underdog Jamaica advance into the next round. For the Jamaica women’s team it will be the first time they move on to the knock-out stage leaving the country in a blissful state of euphoria.

Similarily, another wave of ecstatic energy is kept up in at least one of the host nations. Australia finishes top of their group and will now be cheered on by fans throughout the country in their knock-out game against Denmark on Monday, August 7.

Second host New Zealand, however, finished the group stage in third place with 4 points. As did Norway, who could only advance to the next round instead of New Zealand through the deciding factor of the goal difference.

England flew through the group stage, winning all of their games, despite many injuries and changes in the team. The European Champions of 2022 will fight to move on to the quarter finals on Monday, August 7. They will play Nigeria, who placed second in Group B.

Japan, who finished on top of Group C might be a serious contender for the title. They performed well in all their group matches, stomping through their final game with a 4 – 0 win against Spain. They played their hearts out, regardless of the fact that they were already set to move into the Round of 16 before their final group game.  

Japan celebrating; Image Credit: http://www.bbc.com

All final Women’s World Cup Group results

The top two teams in every group advance to the Knock-out round that starts Saturday, August 5. 

Group A: 

  1. Switzerland 
  2. Norway 
  3. New Zealand
  4. Philippines 

 Group B:

  1. Australia 
  2. Nigeria
  3. Canada 
  4. Republic of Ireland

 Group C:

  1. Japan
  2. Spain 
  3. Zambia
  4. Costa Rica

 Group D:

  1. England
  2. Denmark
  3. China
  4. Haiti

 Group E:

  1. Netherlands
  2. United States
  3. Portugal 
  4. Vietnam

 Group F:

  1. France 
  2. Jamaica
  3. Brazil
  4. Panama

 Group G:

  1. Sweden
  2. South Africa
  3. Italy 
  4. Argentina

 Group H:

  1. Colombia
  2. Morocco
  3. Germany
  4. South Korea

The final of the FIFA Women’s World Cup will be played in Sydney on August 20.

You can find the BBC schedule for the World Cup here.

Feature Image Credit: National Literacy Trust

+ posts
%d bloggers like this: