Voting opens for 2018 Union Elections

2 mins read
Time to Vote.png

Voting has officially opened in the 2018 Stirling Students’ Union Elections.

The election sees two of the current sabbatical officers aiming to secure a second year in their roles, while six newcomers hope to convince voters that they deserve one of the top jobs in the Students’ Union.

Incumbent Astrid Smallenbroek is taking on fourth year journalism and politics student Ryan Peteranna for the position of Union President, while current VP communities Jamie Grant contends with Communities Officer and Women Equalities Officer Rachel Bradshaw.

The VP Education candidates hoping to take over from Matt Adie are History and Politics Faculty Officer Daniel Wright and Psychology Faculty Officer Georgia Laverick. Following Rebecca Blair’s early exit from the race, the two candidates for Sports President in the election are cricket president Caitlin Ormiston and netball president Ellie West.

Only four of the Executive Officer roles have candidates in this election, and all of them are uncontested. Siobhan Lamb is standing for Health Promotions Officer; Jess McGurk is standing for Sports Union Participation and Engagement Officer; Gina Bartusch is standing for Environment and Ethics Officer; and James Byers is standing for Media Officer.

The election will also decide who will be next year’s NUS delegates. There are two positions available, and the candidates are Henrietta Mochrie and Anuraag Mukhia.

Voting will close in the election at 6.15pm tomorrow evening, with the successful candidates announced at a results party in Venue at 7pm.

To vote in the 2018 election, visit this page and click the green button.

You can find more of Brig’s extensive election coverage, including in-depth interviews with all of the sabbatical officer candidates, here.

+ posts
%d bloggers like this: