80th Golden Globe Awards return after year of scandal

9 mins read

Hollywood’s elite stepped out last night for the 80th Golden Globe awards, the first in two years. Last year’s ceremony was not broadcast in light of the diversity and ethics scandal plaguing the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) at the time.

This year’s host, Jerrod Carmichael, did not let the audience forget about the accusations made about the HFPA, saying in his speech: “I’m only being asked to host this, I know, because I’m Black.”

The comedian went on to highlight the lack of diversity within the Hollywood Foreign Press:

“I won’t say they were a racist organization but they didn’t have a single Black member until George Floyd,”

Jerrod Carmichael Hosting the Golden Globes at the Beverly Hills Hotel. Image Credit: Rich Polk/NBC

Despite the controversy, countless talented artists were recognised at the Globes last night, with many receiving first time wins. Tyler James Williams and Quinta Brunson were both first-time Golden Globe winners for their work on Abbott Elementary, as well as Everything Everywhere All At Once star Michelle Yeoh.

Yeoh’s co-star Ke Huy Quan also won Best Supporting Actor for his performance in the surprise smash hit. The 80s child actor made an emotional speech thanking EEAAO director duo the Daniels (Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert) for helping his return to acting, and Steven Spielberg for giving him his debut role in Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom.

Banshees of Inisherin won big, with awards for lead actor Colin Farrell, Director/Writer Martin McDonagh and a Best Picture Golden Globe nod for the film itself.

After last night, all eyes now turn to the Oscars with nominations being announced January 24. Read on for a full list of Golden Globe Winners.

Best Picture – Drama

Avatar: The Way of Water
The Fabelmans (WINNER)
Top Gun: Maverick

Best Picture – Musical/Comedy

The Banshees of Inisherin (WINNER)
Everything Everywhere All At Once
Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery
Triangle of Sadness

Best Actress – Motion Picture Drama

Cate Blanchett – TAR (WINNER)
Olivia Coleman – Empire of Light
Viola Davis – The Woman King
Ana de Armas – Blonde
Michelle Williams – The Fabelmans

Best Actor – Motion Picture Drama

Austin Butler – Elvis (WINNER)
Brendan Fraser – The Whale
Hugh Jackman – The Son
Bill Nighy – Living
Jeremy Pope – The Inspection

Banshees of Inisherin
Brendan Gleeson and Colin Farrell in The Banshees of Inisherin. Image credit: Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures

Best Actress – Motion Picture – Musical/Comedy

Lesley Manville – Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris
Margot Robbie – Babylon
Anya Taylor-Joy – The Menu
Emma Thompson – Good Luck To You, Leo Grande
Michell Yeoh – Everything Everywhere All At Once (WINNER)

Best Actor – Motion Picture – Musical/Comedy

Diego Calva – Babylon
Daniel Craig – Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery
Adam Driver – White Noise
Colin Farrell – The Banshees of Inisherin (WINNER)
Ralph Fiennes – The Menu

Best Supporting Actor – Motion Picture

Brendan Gleeson – The Banshees of Inisherin
Barry Keoghan – The Banshees of Inisherin
Brad Pitt – Babylon
Ke Huy Quan – Everything Everywhere All At Once (WINNER)
Eddie Redmayne – The Good Nurse

Best Supporting Actress – Motion Picture

Angela Bassett – Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (WINNER)
Kerry Condon – The Banshees of Inisherin
Jamie Lee Curtis – Everything Everywhere All At Once
Dolly De Leon – Triangle of Sadness
Carey Mulligan – She Said

Best Director – Motion Picture

James Cameron – Avatar: The Way of Water
Daniel Scheinert, Daniel Kwan – Everything Everywhere All at Once
Baz Luhrmann – Elvis
Martin McDonagh – The Banshees of Inisherin
Steven Spielberg – The Fabelmans (WINNER)

Everything Everywhere all at once
Michelle Yeoh won best actress in a musical or comedy category. Image credit: A24

Best Screenplay Motion Picture

Todd Field – TAR
Daniel Scheinert, Daniel Kwan – Everything Everywhere All at Once
Martin McDonagh – The Banshees of Inisherin (WINNER)
Sarah Polley – Women Talking
Tony Kushner, Steven Spielberg – The Fabelmans

Best Picture – Animated

Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio (WINNER)
Marcel the Shell with Shoes On
Puss in Boots: The Last Wish
Turning Red

Best Picture – Non-English language

All Quiet on the Western Front (Germany)
Argentina, 1985 (Argentina) (WINNER)
Close (Netherlands, France, Belgium)
Decision to Leave (South Korea)
RRR (India)

Best Score Motion Picture

Carter Burwell – The Banshees of Inisherin
Alexandre Desplat – Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio
Hildur Guðnadóttir – Women Talking
Justin Hurwitz – Babylon (WINNER)
John Williams – The Fabelmans

Best Song Motion Picture

Where the Crawdads Sing – Carolina
Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio – Ciao Papa
Top Gun: Maverick – Hold My Hand
Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Lift Me Up
RRR – Naatu Naatu (WINNER)

Golden Globe for Television Series

Best Drama Series

Better Call Saul
The Crown
House of the Dragon (WINNER)

Best Musical/Comedy series

Abbott Elementary (WINNER)
The Bear
Only Murders in the Building

Abbott Elementary stars Quinta Brunson and Tyler James Williams won last night. Image credit: Disney Platform Distribution Warner Bros.

Best Limited Series, Anthology Series or Television Motion Picture

Dahmer – Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story
The Dropout
Pam & Tommy
The White Lotus (WINNER)

Best Actress – Limited Series, Anthology Series or Television Motion Picture

Jessica Chastain – George & Tammy
Julia Garner – Inventing Anna
Lily James – Pam & Tommy
Julia Roberts – Gaslit
Amanda Seyfried – The Dropout (WINNER)

Best Actor – Limited Series, Anthology Series or Television Motion Picture

Taron Egerton – Blackbird
Colin Firth – The Staircase
Andrew Garfield – Under the Banner of Heaven
Evan Peters – Dahmer – Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story (WINNER)
Sebastian Stan – Pam & Tommy

Best Television Actress – Drama Series

Emma D’Arcy – House of the Dragon
Laura Linney – Ozark
Imelda Staunton – The Crown
Hilary Swank – Alaska Daily
Zendaya – Euphoria (WINNER)

Best Television Actor – Drama Series

Jeff Bridges – The Old Man
Kevin Costner – Yellowstone (WINNER)
Diego Luna – Andor
Bob Odenkirk – Better Caul Saul
Adam Scott – Severance

White Lotus Season 2
Jennifer Cooleridge won Best Supporting Actress in Television Limited Series/Motion Picture. Image Credit: Warner Bros. Television Distribution

Best Television Actress – Musical/Comedy Series

Quinta Brunson – Abbott Elementary (WINNER)
Kaley Cuoco – The Flight Attendant
Selena Gomez – Only Murders in the Building
Jenna Ortega – Wednesday
Jean Smart – Hacks

Best Television Actor – Musical/Comedy Series

Donald Glover – Atlanta
Bill Hader – Barry
Steve Martin – Only Murders in the Building
Martin Short – Only Murders in the Building
Jeremy Allen White – The Bear (WINNER)

Best Supporting Actress – Television Limited Series/Motion Picture

Jennifer Coolidge – The White Lotus (WINNER)
Claire Danes – Fleishman Is in Trouble
Daisy Edgar-Jones – Under the Banner of Heaven
Niecy Nash – Dahmer – Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story
Aubrey Plaza – The White Lotus

Best Supporting Actor – Television Limited Series/Motion Picture

F. Murray Abraham – The White Lotus
Domhnall Gleeson – The Patient
Paul Walter Hauser – Black Bird (WINNER)
Richard Jenkins – Dahmer – Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story
Seth Rogen – Pam & Tommy

Best Supporting Actress – Television Series

Elizabeth Debicki – The Crown
Hannah Einbinder – Hacks
Julia Garner – Ozark (WINNER)
Janelle James – Abbott Elementary
Sheryl Lee Ralph – Abbott Elementary

Best Supporting Actor – Television Series

John Lithgow – The Old Man
Jonathan Pryce – The Crown
John Turturro – Severance
Tyler James Williams – Abbott Elementary (WINNER)
Henry Winkler – Barry

Featured Image Credit: Hollywood Foreign Press Association

+ posts

Film and Tv Editor at Brig Newspaper. Currently studying Journalism and English at the University of Stirling

%d bloggers like this: