Clubs & Societies Awards 2022 nominations announced

2 mins read

Stirling Students’ Union has just released the shortlist for this year’s Clubs & Societies Awards.

The nominations for the 15 specific categories are as follows:

Best Event

Diwali – South Asian and International Societies
Brig’s Big Talk
Classical Vs Contemporary Cabaret – Musical Theatre
Joint Media Awards – AirTV, Air3 and Brig
ReFreshers Cup 2022 (Dumyat Dragons Quidditch Team)
Scare Games – Disney
Mock UN event

Most Innovative Idea 

Stirling Climate Festival
Disney Appreciation Society: Scare Games
Brig – Advent Calendar
Air3 Radio 24 hour Broadcast
Zeta Kappa Rho: Drag Show
Musical Theatre – show piece

Wooden Spoon 

Isla Glen 
Dimitrios Terzis
Arran Douglas
Abbie Lee
Em Allardyce 
Ben Waddell

Biggest Contribution to the Student Body

Herminia Seguro
LGBTQ+ Society
Global Justice Stirling
Helena Barton
Jess Reid
Marine Conservation Society
Freddie Bruun Petersen
The Language Exchange Society

Best ‘Can-Do’ Attitude 

Iman Mackenzie
Isla Glen 
Michelle Yu
Herminia Seguro
Molly Graham
Morgan Guthrie
Caitlin Turner

Best Club Collaboration 

University of Sanctuary
Disney/True Crime – who done it?
Writing Prompts – Brig/Creative Writing/SSSHEs
Joint Media Awards – Brig, Air TV, Air3 Radio
Women in STEM/True Crime – Murder mystery night
StirPride and Stirling Climate Festival

Best Publicity 

Hedgehog Friendly Campus
Politics Society
The Language Exchange Society
International Society
LGBTQ+ Society

Best Rookie

Katie Child – Musical Theatre
Susan Hare – STAR
Homoud Mahadin – Debating
Helen Scones – Pole Fitness
Gwendolyn Glodt – Musical Theatre
Anna Rossen – Environmental Enterprises

Best New Club 

South Asian Society
Gin Tasting Society
Vegan and Animal Rights (VERA)
Book Club
MENtal Wellbeing Society
Greek & Cypriot

Community Award 

Law Society
Zeta Kappa Rho
LGBTQ+ Society
Marine Conservation Society

Club of culture 

Air3 Radio
Christian Union
The Language Exchange Society

Best Committee 

Disney Appreciation Society
Women in STEM
Live Music Society
Musical Theatre
Pole Fitness
The Fellowship of Stirling

President of the Year 

Herminia Seguro – Book Club
Claire Welsh – Law
Raeven Izard – ZKP
Iona Brownlie – Brig
Helena Barton – Creative Writing Society & Disney Society
Juulia Spets – Psychology
Lara Adamson – Musical Theatre
Liam McNair – Air3 Radio
Freddie Bruun Petersen – STAR

Lifetime Achievement Award 

Rory MacLellan
Tadhg Provan
Claire Welsh
Caitlin Turner
Dimitrios Terzis
Thuraya Al-Mahadin
Clemens Ziesik
Helena Barton

Club of the Year

The Language Exchange Society
Global Justice Stirling 
Debating Society
Musical Theatre
Air3 Radio
Pole Fitness

The winners will be announced during the award ceremony on March 31st at 6.30p.m. in the Golden Lion Hotel.

Featured Image Credit: Stirling Students’ Union

+ posts

Film, media & journalism student

Leave a Reply